The Best Place To Eat in San Diego


Each time I visit a city, I’m always on the lookout for that one restaurant where I have to go back and try the food again because it’s that good.  The one that you look forward to every time you come back.

In San Diego, California, that restaurant is called The Neighborhood.

I was shown this restaurant by a local, and I would’ve never found it otherwise!  This place is absolutely mouth-watering, and you would be missing out on some truly spectacular food ( and drinks! ) if you don’t go.

You’re welcome.

Neighborhood-3

First off, the restaurant is located on the border of the Gaslamp District and East Village.  It’s a more historical part of San Diego, but it is within walking distance of a bunch of bars.  It sits right on the corner, and there was a parking lot ( which you do have to pay for ) right across the street.

My first impression: hole-in-the-wall.  Which is kind of true; I mean, it was a place you could easily overlook.  I truly don’t mean that as a bad thing, but it isn’t super flashy.

That’s not their style.

When we were seated outside, this is what we saw:

IMG_3500

The table read:  “Please don’t sit on my face.”

The menu’s read:  “These are the things we make” and “These are the things you drink.”

They also have a few disclaimers when you are waiting outside for your table:

–  We do not serve ketchup

–  We do not serve Coors or Budweiser

–  We do not serve vodka

Among many others.

What?? You serve burgers but don’t offer ketchup???  I knew I would have to try a burger to see why they were so confident.

And oh.  My.  Gosh.

I ordered the black bean burger.  Not because I am a vegetarian, but because I hadn’t had one before.  The waiter said it was a popular choice, so I decided to give it a go.  For my side, I chose sweet potato fries.

And they were right!  The burger was perfectly crafted, it wasn’t necessary to add other flavors.  Not only was the food incredible, but the drinks were so delicious!  I have always favored a vodka drink, so this was something that would force me to step out of my comfort zone.  I had a spritzer with raspberries.  So yummy!

Even the trip to the bathroom was exciting!  Inside the ladies room, it is all black and white tile.  One wall looks like this:

IMG_3026

Little did we know, there was a little surprise waiting for us.  Our local showed us to the back hallway, which had a door to the kitchen, a door to each of the men’s and ladies’ bathrooms, and a wall of stacked kegs.

“Okay, find the door.”

I had NO idea what he was talking about.  But after a solid push against the wall of kegs, it pushed open!  And it lead to this:

noble-experiment-1

Skulls on one wall, paintings on the ceiling, a four tiered bar, and comfy couches.  Yes, please!

I didn’t know what on earth I should order, that I would like.  I explained my concerns to the mixologist who was taking care of us, and she simply asked what I normally drank.  She made me a drink that she thought would be similar to my tastes, and she was right!  She made me a lemon-y drink with gin.  It was different that anything I had ever had before!  It was so tasty!!

Even their ice is unique.

Instead of ice taking up half of the drink ( which isn’t unusual ), the ice came in one tall stalk.  It was really creative!  It still kept the drink nice and cold but prevented a great deal of condensation.

Needless to say, after such a positive experience, it was impossible not to return again during our stay.  I am so looking forward to returning again soon once I am back on the West Coast.

You can take a look at there menu, drinks, and events here.

location: 777 G St. San Diego CA 92101

hours: 11:30AM-1:30AM

phone: (619)446-0002

Like I said, you’re welcome.

( While my opinion may not coincide with others’, it is always my own. )

One response to “The Best Place To Eat in San Diego

  1. Okay I changed my mind, this is quite possibly the absolute best post you’ve done yet. I love the creativity and thought behind it. Gosh I was smiling to myself through out the entire post. This is well thought out, and gives me a NEW place to try next time I am in San Diego ( maybe this summer) Ah This just made me so excited!! I love this idea. Next come up with one for when I arrive in DC. Oh and lets collaborate on one for Portland. I have so many great suggestions. *THINK PEARL DISTRICT* And you could also do different things for different kinds of food. Like in Portland you could have one for best place for Happy Hour, appetizers, drinks, dessert and dinner. Just a few random ideas. Okay love this post and you even more.
    xoxo
    kg

    Like

Leave a Reply

