How To: Stay Fit During the Holidays


Every year, I make the same promises to myself.

I will work out every day.  TWICE on Thanksgiving. I won’t eat dessert.  I will eat small portions.  Blah blah blah.

If I’m being honest, these are very unrealistic expectations.  Especially if you know my family, dessert is an entire meal in itself.

I’ve found that I struggle to stick a strict workout schedule ( and healthy eating ) because it has so much to offer:  Starbucks red cups, desserts up to my ears, peppermint everything, milk & cookies, days devoted to eating, the list goes on.  I mean, I’m only human!

So I thought I would share a few tips and tricks that I use to stay fit during the holidays!

1.  Bodyweight workouts are your new best friend

These are the best ( in my not-so-humble opinion ) because they don’t require any equipment!  This way, there really isn’t an excuse for working out because all you need is our own body.  These can be very challenging, even though you aren’t pumping a bunch of iron.

2.  Work out first thing in the morning

After a full day of holiday shopping, it’s difficult to get motivated to do a challenging workout.  If you get up and get it done, then it’s impossible to make excuses to get out of it later.  Get up, work out, shower, take on the day!

3.  Find a friend

Screen Shot 2014-11-18 at 8.25.47 AM

( source )

I love doing holiday workouts with my sister(s), or even some friends.  This can be a great help because then there’s another person with you who’s also trying to keep healthy during the holidays.  It’s a nice way to hold each other accountable!

4.  Don’t overload your plate

I’ll admit, I’m first in line to pile everything in sight and create a haphazard mountain on my plate.  It all looks so delicious!  Especially after I’ve been smelling it cooking all day.  I consciously take just enough to make a hearty portion, but maybe not as much as I initially think that I want.  I can always go back for seconds!

5.  Eat slowly

If you eat at a slower pace, your stomach has time to register that it is becoming full.  If you dive headfirst into a full plate of food, you might find that your stomach hurts after finishing it all.

6.  Walk!

Screen Shot 2014-11-18 at 8.30.48 AM

( source )

Walking is so underrated.  Walk everywhere you can!  Getting in some extra steps can do more than you realize!  Especially if you are Black Friday shopping… So.  Much.  Walking.


What I love most about these tips is that they don’t require you to do anything crazy.  It’s just a matter of being mindful of what you are doing, and making conscious choices to be healthy!  What tips do you have for me?  I’d love to hear from you guys!

One response to “How To: Stay Fit During the Holidays

Leave a Reply

