Thanksgiving


I know that alllllll day long today, we are all going to be reading about what everyone is thankful for, but it’s one of my favorite days on social media.  I absolutely LOVE how much positivity circulates each year!

I know that we should take time to be thankful each and every day, but today’s the day where everyone radiates happiness and gratefulness.  What’s not to love about that???

In the past, my whole family ( grandparents, aunts, uncles, cousins, etc. ) gathered around the table and passed around a dried corn stalk.  Each person picked off a kernel of corn and puts it in a mini paper top hat and said what they are thankful for.  And every year it reduces my grandma to tears ( I love you and your sensitivity, grandma Jean 🙂 ).

So, in honor of Thanksgiving, I thought I’d share a list of things that I am truly thankful for this year.

DSC_0017

1.  I’m thankful for the food on the table

Not everyone else is as fortunate as Derek and I.  We have more than enough food for the two of us today, and it’s something that I no longer take lightly.  When I was younger, I would take the food that my mom put on the table for granted.  I’ve been fortunate, and I am forever grateful.

DSC_0021

2.  I’m thankful for the opportunity to live on the East Coast

Living so far away from my family is an adventure in itself.  My grandparents, parents, and my sisters and I all were born, raised, and stayed in the same town.  Making the decision to move 3000 miles away wasn’t an easy one.  It’s an adventure I can appreciate and can learn incredible things from.  It also makes me truly realize how wonderful my family is.  They have been so supportive from home, and I talk to them almost every day!

3.  I’m thankful for new friends

It’s been so long since I’ve had to make new friends.  It’s kind of like dating!!!  Should I ask for their number?  How long should I wait to ask to hang out?  Drinks, movies, dinner?  What do they like to do for fun?  I don’t want to be lame!  The internal monologue struggle is reallllll.  The friends that I have made here have been so welcoming and made me feel at home.  I don’t know what I would do without you guys!

4.  I’m thankful that I get to visit my two families over the next month

Derek and I will be able to spend Christmas with my family, and New Years with his!  I am so glad this worked out, we weren’t sure if we would be able to afford going to both places!  So beyond grateful for this holiday season!!!

5.  I’m thankful for my old friends, too

Especially since I’m so far away, I appreciate those who try to keep in touch with me.  I know we all get busy, but I am so thankful that I have friends who call / text when they can.  Thank you all!

What are you thankful for this holiday??

4 responses to “Thanksgiving

Leave a Reply

