Arm and Shoulder Workout


In preparation for my wedding ( and honeymoon, too ) I’ve started hitting the gym a bit more seriously than I was before.

From June 2014 until about November, I was religiously doing the Kayla Itsines’ Bikini Body Training Guides.  At the time I started them, I had just finished my athletic career at Oregon State University, so my workouts were now completely on my own.

So I was kind of at a “where next?” point.  I loveeeeeee these guides and they are well structured for those who might find organizing an effective workout a challenge.  You can read more about why I love her guides here.

In November when I finished her second guide and I wasn’t sure what to do next.  I could keep doing the last few weeks over again, but I was looking to mix it up.  I wanted to still incorporate the muscle endurance that I gained from the BBTG but add some strength and ( a bit ) of mass.

So I started weight lifting.

Derek and I are currently on a lifting schedule together.  I’ve gotten some questions lately about my current workout routine, so I thought I’d share one of the workouts that we did a few days ago!


Arm and Shoulder

Barbell Shoulder Press: 3 sets of 8 reps

Barbell curl: 3 sets of 8 reps, alternating with

Standing rear delt raise: 3 sets of 12 reps

standing-real-delt-raise

( source )

Skull crushers: 3 sets of 12 reps, alternating with

Chin ups: 3 sets of as many as you can do ( at least 5, with help if needed )

Overhead tricep rope extension: 3 sets of 8 reps, alternating with

IMG_4031

Front fly and press: 3 sets of 8 reps


And then you’re done!  This type of workout makes my muscles so tired.  Then the soreness hits hard the next day.  Do you like being sore?  I think it’s one of the best feelings.  Ever.  You can literally feel your progress!

Let me know if you like this type of post, and I will make sure to post more of my workouts!

3 responses to “Arm and Shoulder Workout

  1. Thanks for sharing your routine! Love working arms, especially shoulders, perfect for sleeveless weather!

    Like

Leave a Reply

