Washington DC, USA: Cherry Blossom Festival


I spent my birthday with the cherry blossoms, and I wouldn’t have it any other way.

DSC_0030

Derek and I drove to the National Mall and absolutely scored with parking like 27 feet from the Washington Memorial ( AKA the giant pointed needle-looking thing ).  We probably could have thrown a rock and hit it.  And if you’ve ever tried to park in downtown DC on a nice day, you know the struggle!

DSC_0138

So we had a short walk across the way to the Tidal Basin, which is lined with cherry blossom trees.  Since it was such a nice day, there were plenty of paddle boaters floating around the water by the Jefferson Memorial.

DSC_0037

DSC_0032

DSC_0053

DSC_0023

 

There’s also a small tulip garden here.  The colors were so vivid and bright!  We went around lunchtime and there was hardly anyone there, which made it so much more enjoyable.

DSC_0009

DSC_0013

DSC_0019

DSC_0049

It was a perfect day.

I am so excited for my 23rd year: my wedding and honeymoon ( eeek! ), Derek finishes the “classroom” bit of medical school, and I ( hopefully ) get to start my ( big girl ) career!  There is so much to be grateful for and incredible things to look forward to.

Happy birthday to meeeeee!

6 responses to “Washington DC, USA: Cherry Blossom Festival

Leave a Reply

